The Key

January 13, 2009 at 5:54 pm | Posted in community, History | 12 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I was wandering on #freebsd and #openbsd some days ago and was pretty much amazed when people did not like GNU way. Then I read FreeBSd and OpenBSD FAQs and foud that BSD folks are very keen on replacing any GPLed code in their system with newly written BSD licensed code. OpenBSD even says that GPL is acceptable as last resource.

what the heck ?

I was very much interested in installing OpenBSD and using it as my daily OS but after this I was literally hurt. I decided not to spend any time on BSD, rather using that time to understand the GNU software. The current situation of software demands proper attention, commitment and dedication to copyleft ideals, otherwise proprietary software companies will keep on getting stronger and stronger and will keep on eating the society in the name of business and it will affect the Free Software community as whole, whether BSD or whether GPL or whether Apache people. It will affect all of us, after all we make together free software community). Free Software is about our responsibility to help society grow better , to make technical innovations that will help removing misery and pain from this planet while proprietary software people are totally committed the other way, make money on the cost of society. Earth is the place where out kids grow, where our loves ones and friends live, and where we see people like us trying to help each other, proprietary software supporters, intentionally and indirectly do not want, they want control of economy and by writing BSD code BSD people help them in gaining control over society and hence themselves (Windows has some BSD code), BSD license is like giving someone a sharp knife, telling him that he can use it to cut vegetables and fruit so that he can make his health better but that person uses that knife to stab you , in the face…

What people like me do, we don’t give such people the knife, we give them GPL, they can’t attack us back. Whose responsibility this society is ? Who wants to stand for his country, for people need to grow out of misery and pain and lower level of poor life to get better education, better health and a better future. if software is the tool then who will accomplish this ? If software is the key in creating a society of liberated, educated and technical people who can take leadership and responsibilities in their own hands then what will you do ? .. Now don’t say “Oh.. please, we write software, don’t include politics here”..

Well, why Niels Bohr (if you have read Science then must be knowing him), a great scientist was flown in a small and risky 2 seat airplane from, IIRC, Denmark to Britain. He literally stopped breathing because of some of technical problem in the plane. British people have to revive him when the airplane landed. It was one of the operation of World War 2. Now why a non-violent scientist came under the World War 2 plan. Its because he was extremely technical when it comes atomic science. If Hitler could have him then Atomic Bombs would have fallen on USA and UK, not Nagasaki and Hiroshima and your people, your friends, your loved ones will be saying “Heil Hitler” instead of “this time I’m free“. Niels Bohr has the tool to a Free Society and same way in year 2009, the Free Software is the key to a free society where no one is judged on the basis of his religion, his race, his color or his cast. In the world of free software we judge people based on their programming skills and we believe that Information needs to be free for society needs to grow and remove the pain and misery from the lives of their fellow people.

I think writing BSD licensed code means helping the greedy business to establish the control over us. Don’ do that, if you love your freedom. I Love the Hacker’s ideals and from experience I can say that Hackers can become great politicians, and great Leaders who can turn the direction from where human lives are heading today to a better and prosperous future where the government will support people to help themselves and then will get out of their way to let them grow. Its the Free Society, where anyone can assume his responsibility for his countrymen then he will lead, GPL is the key in doing that, if you loose it, you loose the quality. you loose the peace that a man wants in his entire life. Accept the truth and truth will set you free.

 

 


Copyright © 2008, Arnuld Uttre, #331/type-2/sector-1, Naya Nangal, Distt. – Ropar, Punjab (INDIA) – 140126

Verbatim copying and distribution of this entire article are permitted worldwide, without royalty, in any medium, provided this notice, and the copyright notice, are

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You said ‘accept the truth and the truth will set you free’. It was like you edited the bible and done a good job!

    • > You said ‘accept the truth and the truth will set you free’.
      > It was like you edited the bible and done a good job!

      well, I did not know Bible said that. First I am a Hindu and 2nd I am an atheist and 3rd I believe religions are here to divide people into categories like Jews and Hindus and Muslims, rather than into a honest and dishonest man. I heard that dialog many-many times in in Hollywood movies, the only difference is I replaced “shall” with “will” because if that sentence has to be practical then “shall” just does not fit here. My experience in life is that you absorb what is practical, by practical I mean what works for you (not for me or any other) and what does not work is theory, so discard the theory and absorb what is practical. Religions are purely theoretical analysis based things. Earlier Hackers in MIT knew this and that is why they let anyone hack on Tixo whoever wants to regardless of color or race, you are good with them as long as you love hacking. lets come to the original point, that sentence that I borrowed and then edited from Hollywood movies is actually my own experience of life summed up in one line. Truth *will* set you free if you look for it, truth has nothing to do with beauty or power, it just plain logic, the common sense and it lies in the source code you see. Proprietary software is the slavery and humanity needs to be set free of it.

  2. I love this line:
    > but that person uses that knife to stab you ,
    > in the face…

    Anyways, I am a fan of the GPL as well, but BSD people see their code as *more* free because one isn’t required to give back to the community; a user is free to take that code and turn it into, say, OSX. I don’t like that, but they (the BSD people) seem to think this is good somehow.

  3. This has been discussed quite a lot in the past. I look forward to reading comments if any from more knowledgable people than me.
    I am a Linux user BTW. Heres how i see things.
    The FSF doesnt isnt in reality about Free but Open Source software.Im sure everyone understands thats 2 totally different things. RMS himself told the exact same thing about a week ago in some article on the internet. Sadly dont have the link handy.
    The GPL is like the laws governments vote to prevent “from attaking back” as you said.
    GPLed software is not, and not meant to be free software. Just open source.

    • > This has been discussed quite a lot in the past. I look forward to reading comments
      > if any from more knowledgable people than me.

      well, I am lookig forward for that same. It will be a happier moment when I will get one 🙂

      > GPLed software is not, and not meant to be free software.
      > Just open source.

      make yourself clear: http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/open-source-misses-the-point.html

  4. What the heck are you talking about? We programmers arn’t getting the knife! BSD is a valid lisence, one that without it, Our economy would be in worse shape than it already is. GPL is curse. it only breeds more gpl, You can’t break the stranglehold. Lgpl, is the best licence.

    For a better world we need all licences, and we need ones that support free, AND propriatary!

  5. That’s a really strong opinion. Not necessarily correct, but obviously firmly believed by you.

    Now, step back for a moment and consider that not everyone feels the same way as you. Some believe in freedom more strongly than you do. They use the BSD license because it puts fewer restrictions on the code. Yes GPL and BSD provide the same freedoms to the user, but BSD licensed code is more free. And to some people that is very important.

    I’ll gladly use any free software, if it meets my needs. Under whatever license the developer has chosen. But I don’t think I’d personally release any of my code under the GPL. I don’t like to force other people to do the same thing as me, which is required by the GPL.

    Anyway, you have an opinion. I have mine. I can’t convince you that your opinion is wrong, nor am I trying to. I can try to show you how other people feel. Then maybe you won’t rail against BSD license using folks in the future. (’cause I bet you use a ton of BSD licensed code without even realizing it.)

    • > That’s a really strong opinion. Not necessarily correct, but obviously
      > firmly believed by you.

      There is a deference between what is firmly believed by me and what is the truth. There is a difference between what I want and what I need.

      > I don’t like to force other people to do the same thing as me, which is
      > required by the GPL.

      GPL is not about force, its about your responsibility as a human being, as a human who is a part of a society and has to take responsibility for it.

      > Then maybe you won’t rail against BSD license using folks in the future. (’cause I bet
      > you use a ton of BSD licensed code without even realizing it.)

      I am not working against BSD people, you people have given away the source for free, you people and the people like me who support GPL are the different facets of Free Software community. I just want to emphasize the fact that BSD code and the same way, public domain code helps keep proprietary software businesses running in a good condition. You give them your code and it makes them (anti-society people) stronger. I don’t them to be strong same way as I don’t want terrorist organization to be strong enough to kill the innocents. Terrorists kill people physically, proprietary software kills people intellectually. Intellectual Death is worse than death because after that you are still alive facing the consequences and trust me the consequences are not good.

  6. Hey Arnuld. I’m not forcing any kind of truth in you. I’m also practical. And I agree wiht your opinion about free and open-source software.

  7. […] The Key I think writing BSD licensed code means helping the greedy business to establish the control over us. Don’ do that, if you love your freedom. I Love the Hacker’s ideals and from experience I can say that Hackers can become great politicians, and great Leaders who can turn the direction from where human lives are heading today to a better and prosperous future where the government will support people to help themselves and then will get put of their way to let them grow. Its the Free Society, where anyone can assume his responsibility for his countrymen then he will lead, GPL is the key in doing that, if you loose it, you loose the quality. you loose the peace that a man wants in his entire life. Accept the truth and truth will set you free. […]

  8. Hi arnuld,

    I really appreciate what you had to say. I believe the difference between what i would call your “open source” thinking and the business thinking is cultural – in poorer countries (or countries that have a large poor or undeveloped populations) the open source model works best, primarily due to price, but also because there is more of a community mentality.

    I was born in guatemala, and have lived in the US most of my life, and the difference in this cultural mentality explains why so many people who come from richer countries (like the US) swear by, defend, and believe only in the business attitude of making a profit. It’s very selfish and greedy, and people tend to think “what’s in it for me” instead of, as JFK said, “what you can do for your country”.

    It’s sad, but until we can change the culture itself, i think your fighting an uphill battle.

    I do think more people need to speak out about the subject of open source/open licenses and what the difference means to the community at large, as you’ve done. Though i also believe you will get a lot of grief from people.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.